Whale Watching

Big Ocean, Even Bigger Adventure! 

Mid December - Mid April: Every Day

Twice-daily Cruises Depart from Downtown San Diego

  • 9:30 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
  • 1:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

Embark on an unforgettable whale-watching journey with the ocean experts at Birch Aquarium at Scripps! Witness the longest mammal migration in the world, when approximately 20,000 gray whales pass San Diego on their annual 10,000-mile round-trip journey from the Bering Sea to the lagoons of Baja California.

Whale-watching trips leave from the Flagship Cruises and Events docks in downtown San Diego (about a 20-minute drive south of Birch Aquarium).

Price

Member:

  • Birch Aquarium Members receive 30% off whale watching tickets. 
  • Please enter BIRCHMEMBER30 at checkout to receive the member discount.
  • You must show a valid Birch Aquarium membership card at Flagship’s Ticket Office to pick up your passes and check-in on the day of your excursion.

Public:

  • Adults: $50 (Sat.-Sun.), $45 (Mon.-Fri.)
  • Children (4-12): $25 (Sat.-Sun.), $ 22.50 (Mon.-Fri.)
  • Senior, military, and more pricing options are available on the ticket page. 

Tickets are sold through Flagship Cruises and Events 

Please call Flagship Cruises and Events at 1-800-442-7847 for more information about tickets and dates.

Buy Tickets 

 

Upcoming Events

Sat, January 18 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Sun, January 19 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Mon, January 20 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Tue, January 21 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Wed, January 22 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Thu, January 23 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Fri, January 24 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Sat, January 25 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Sun, January 26 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Mon, January 27 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Tue, January 28 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Wed, January 29 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Thu, January 30 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Fri, January 31 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching
Sat, February 1 9:30 am - 5:00 pm Whale Watching

View Full Calendar